Camouflage


Tip: How to teach your kids this concept using magazines and crayons.


 A lizard…Mom! It’s a lizard!!!

      Today’s moment notice came about when we noticed a lizard on the sidewalk outside of our front door. This little brown lizard provided much intrigue for my children who “ooed” and “aahhed” as well as gasped and squealed as he moved around. I looked at the lizard and using my observation skills began to ask my children questions. “What color is he?” “Why do you think he is that color?” “What color is the dirt near him? See how he matches the dirt?” “Wow, look at his toes! They look different than our toes. Let’s see what they do.” When the lizard crawled towards our nearest flower plant, we scooted closer to inspect his next move. Surprisingly enough, he didn’t scamper away quickly from us. Instead he stayed nearby and kept an eye on us. I continued to talk about the lizard to my children as we watched him. I had them tell me what they saw when they looked at him. My 4 year old definitely had more to say about the lizard, but I know my son was absorbing everything around him. I pointed out to them that he blended in to the dirt because he was the same color that that was called camouflage.

     We went inside and I decided to try an art experiment using camouflage before the new concept left their brains. I found a magazine ad that had a picture of Elmo, Ernie, and Cookie Monster. I had my children choose one of the 3 monsters and we glued their choices to a sheet of white paper. I told them that they had to try and camouflage their monster. We discussed the colors of each monster and I let them try to “camouflage” the monster. As they were doing so, I was thinking that tissue paper and other art supplies glued on to the paper would provide more of “camouflage” than crayon. Mental note: When discussing camouflage again, try that!  I told my 2 year old to “hide” Cookie Monster and he covered him with crayons. He understood the hiding part. J   My 4 year old told me she could just flip her paper over and hide Ernie. They definitely understand the hiding part! Now to work on the blending in…

Alternative Idea: Create a camouflage hide-and-seek game.


I came up with another idea for camouflage. I thought of choosing 5 of their small toys. I took a picture of the toys. I would hide the toys and then have my kids try to find them. I would reinforce the idea of camouflage by saying that the toys blended in by matching the colors around them.

Leave a Reply

